Hardness towards others…

Transcript found below video.

Ashla Axiom #11
Hardness toward others deadens your connection to them.

We are in an interesting time, aren’t we? Friends, Family, and Strangers become our enemies with the mere utterance of an opposing view on the world it seems. The list of topics that we are “permitted” to talk about is shrinking by the day, out of fear of “offending” someone who may have a difference of opinion.

Growing up, for me, it was never like this. People talked and discussed topics even when they held an different opinion to another. People were not fearful of being censored, or hated because of what they believed or said. People could discuss politics, religion, and social issues for example without being branded a “traitor” or “racist” , or worse out of fear for losing someone in their life that they loved and respected.

People seemed more willing to take the high road and just agree to disagree. Life went on, people still respected each other. People still loved each other. People seemed more willing to see a person for more than the opinions they held. People seemed more willing to look past a persons perceived flaws and instead look for the good within each person. I can only speak from my personal experience here, but it really was that way.

You see, I prefer the way people treated each other then as opposed to now. I don’t like the fact that people are censored. I don’t like the fact that people are shunned. I don’t like the fact that just because someone doesn’t like your beliefs or views that you are now an enemy, simply based on that fact alone. I don’t like the fact that a person is judged more on what their political leanings are as opposed to what good things they do for others. I don’t like the fact that it is becoming an “All or nothing” world.

This is why I seek to be the change I wish to see in the world. I strive to censor no one, but instead, offer a counter point where each of us have a chance to learn and grow. I strive to shun no one based on arbitrary reasoning, but instead, help those in need when I can and where I can. I strive to only make those my enemy who seek to hurt others and cause harm to those who are unable to defend themselves, not based on their views and opinions that differ from mine.

As I have said before, we have to try and take a non-judgmental approach to others and their situations. I know that it can be very difficult to look at something or someone without our preconceived judgments about them. It seems to be in our very nature to do this almost immediately. But like many things, we only approach others in this manner because we are conditioned to. You don’t have to hate someone or make them your enemy because of what they believe. It is a choice after all.

This brings me to an example of emotional control over ones self in relation to this topic that I shared with someone in the comments. Emotional control is someone who can look at another point of view without getting all worked up over it. Someone who doesn’t need others to “protect” their feelings when they see or hear something that bothers them. Someone who has enough emotion maturity to accept the fact that someone has a different opinion than you. Having enough spiritual maturity to understand that growth can take place when you are offered a different opinion or perspective.

By the way, I don’t seek to change your views in the least, or the views of the 6.5 billion people on this planet. I respect the differences that we share just as much as the similarities. All I can do, as I always have, is offer this platform to those brave enough to share their views with people from all over the world. To share information and perspective, and let people decide for themselves. I have faith in those listening to this, to be able to make up their mind for themselves.

I believe that we only grow when our ideals and beliefs are challenged. So many paths have much in common with each other, if you open up and allow discussion without prejudging a persons POV, people from different paths can find value, especially the value from the give and take discussions. When I put content out, it is not meant to be an end all be all, it is meant to be a discussion starter.

There is a certain flexibility to be had when we encounter things that are in opposition to our currently held beliefs. Don’t remove yourself from the fray and chaos of life. Roll up your sleeves and don’t be afraid to get your hands dirty.

Ashla Axiom #11
Hardness toward others deadens your connection to them.

Always be flexible in your dealings with others. Give them an out whenever possible, and respect their right to an opinion different from yours. Misunderstandings happen when we refuse to feel and listen. Growth does not take place from the comfort of a safe space.

Thank you for taking some time and watching the video. If you are not a subscriber, please subscribe to the channel. Like, share, and comment on the video and head over to the KOA FB page and join in the conversation there as well.

I love you all very much, and until next time………….Awaken the Knight within.

Leave a Reply

